Open Space Committee

The mission of the Plymouth Open Space Committee is to advocate for the conservation and maintenance of natural open space for current residents as well as for future generations in order to protect our aquifer, our environment, and the character of our town.

The Committee was created in 1999, when it was added to the Town Charter as Plymouth faced intense development, having grown almost five times in population in a relatively short time. Two of the Committee's nine members are appointed by the Select Board, five by the Planning Board and two by the Conservation Commission.

The Committee carries out its mission by seeking opportunities to conserve natural and recreational open space, bringing articles to conserve land to, and reporting directly to, Town Meeting.  We offer guidance to land owners seeking to sell or donate land or create a conservation restriction, collaborate with the Community Preservation Committee to buy land for conservation, work with other conservation organizations, and pursue educational efforts such as newspaper articles, public recreational walks on conserved land, and conferences.   The current Plymouth Open Space Plan may be found by Clicking Here.

The Committee meets twice monthly with occasional exceptions. Meeting dates, times, agenda and locations are posted on the Town Website. Members of the public are always welcome whether they are generally interested in land conservation or concerned about a specific piece of land.

Current Committee members as of January 2022 are:
Diane Peck, Chair
Lois Post, Secretary
Andrea Dickinson
John Hammond
Brian Harrington
Sharl Heller
Malcolm MacGregor

The Committee can be contacted through its support staff: Patrick M. Farah, Planning Technician/Energy Officer/Conservation Inspector
Town of Plymouth
Department of Planning and Development
26 Court Street
Plymouth, MA 02360
Direct Line: 508-322-3374